Has anyone else gotten an e-mail looking like this one?
Dear eHarmony Friend,
As a past or present user of eHarmony.com, we want to inform you that one of your matches, name from place, has been removed from the eHarmony.com service. Consistent with eHarmony.com’s privacy policy, we do not disclose the reasons for name‘s removal. eHarmony.com disclaims any responsibility or liability with respect to any continued involvement between you and any member whose account is closed by eHarmony.com.
Sincerely,
Customer Care
eHarmony
What gives? The most recent one, their one and only picture was, well, not convincing that they were “real” but I figured I would proceed anyhow but with a healthy dose of caution. The match and I got to OC and after reading their message, it was pretty clear they weren’t a native English speaker. After a round of communication and sending me their e-mail, they closed me out for no reason (probably to force further communication via e-mail) and then I got the e-mail from eHarmony, which confirms my suspicion they were a scammer.
They funny thing is they mentioned they were “on a contract” and working in Africa, specifically Nigeria (and they company they mentioned they were working for, awful forthcoming of them to do so in their first OC, did not have an office in Nigeria).
What, was I born yesterday, Mr/Mrs Scammer? I think not.
My question is since this wasn’t during free communication weekend, they must have been a paid subscriber. If so, how did they they pay for the service and why wasn’t their basic information checked during the credit card billing process and found that they were either using a stolen credit card number or had mismatched addresses? They should be flagging suspicious accounts sooner to protect the interests of the rest of their legitimate users.

Do you like this article? Post a comment on Facebook