eHarmony Blog



« | »

Beware of eHarmony Phishing or webpage spoofing

Remember our post yesterday regarding Comcast Internet rebranding eHarmony with their own header? Well, there’s a difference between Comcast’s rebranding and outright spoofing the site, which is what this guy wants to do to visitors of his site:

Mywebgeek calls for programmers to make a phishing website
Screen capture from http://www.scriptlance.com/projects/1192897133.shtml

He wants to collect the first name, email address, gender, marital status, zip/postal code and password of the people he refers to eHarmony. So his visitors would be entering their info on his site while thinking they are registering in eHarmony. His “exact copy” of eHarmony will undoubtedly do this without disclosure or permission.

What do you suppose will happen to this data? I am disgusted with the 8 programmers who have placed a bid on this project to do the work for $30 to $50.

OK, he may be just ignorant of all this, so, ladies and gentlemen…

Beware: register only on the www.eharmony.com domain. Check the address on your browser before entering your personal information unto websites.

Update: On this link, John tries to justify that this isn’t phishing because “data collected is not financial”. He also says that the information will be submitted to a “list management service.” Okaaay. How about I post the information on you and your girlfriend here without your permission, or add them to an objectionable mailing list. Johnny, how about I do that?

Posted by on 20 October 2007.

Categories: *eSsentials*

0 Responses

Leave a Reply

« | »




Recent Posts


Pages



About eHarmony Blog

Can a computer and a compatibility questionnaire create marital success? Or, are people too complex to match together with computer algorithms? What do the eHarmony TV ads promise? Is a dream life partner for most people only a dream — whose wish-fulfillment makes into a profitable business? Welcome to eHarmony Blog, the first and only [...]more →